Stepper Rotates Clockwise No matter what

JuiceBox
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:57 am

Stepper Rotates Clockwise No matter what

Post by JuiceBox » Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:58 am

Alright guys, I'm at my wits end here. I'm no stranger to CNCs I've been using MACH for years but it's been giving me grief lately so I decided to put it to pasture. So I hooked up my Rpi and Protoneer hat and connected everything but I'm having trouble and this ones a doozy.

I have the following:

RPi 3
Protoneer 2.6
External Driver PCB
KL-4030 Drivers
NEMA 23 Bi Polar steppers from Openbuilds

Wireing from RPi to Driver:
Enable --- Enable +, Dir +, Pul + (jumpered)
Dir --- Dir -
Step --- Pul -

Software : BCNC

Symptom :
No matter if I click Move X+ or X-, the motor moves in the same direction and VERY Choppy.

I disconnect the Dir- and the choppyness goes away but the motion stays the same (same direction of rotation regardless of command). One direction however is stronger than the other.

I have no idea why my axis moves in the same direction no matter what direction I hit.

I tried wiring in two other formats, where En- and Pul- and Dir- are jumpered, no motion

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1457
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Stepper Rotates Clockwise No matter what

Post by Bertus Kruger » Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:17 pm

JuiceBox wrote:
Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:58 am
Symptom :
No matter if I click Move X+ or X-, the motor moves in the same direction and VERY Choppy.
With a multimeter check the Direction pin at the stepper driver. It should be a consistent 0v or 5V.
Long shot but are you sure the stepper drivers are hooked up correctly?

JuiceBox
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:57 am

Re: Stepper Rotates Clockwise No matter what

Post by JuiceBox » Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:48 pm

5v or 0v on the Direction - or +? and is this when the motors are in motion or at all times?


Also, as far as the drivers being wired correctly. I'm pretty they're wired correctly. I wired them in three different ways. (I remember the first two off the top of my head, the third I'll have to follow up with later)

JuiceBox
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:57 am

Re: Stepper Rotates Clockwise No matter what

Post by JuiceBox » Fri Apr 19, 2019 6:07 pm

Wired as such, using CNCjs


$4 =1 no motion
$4 = 0, Very choppy, but no rotation

RPi → Driver
STEP →Pul -
DIR → DIR -
Enable → PUL +, DIR +
Gnd → Not Connected

Step Pin + 0V
Dir pin = 0v
Enable Pin = 0v
Gnd Pin = 0v

Everything reads zero volts whether moving or not. I used my power supply V- as my ground ref and the other probe on the pin on the driver side.

I also probed on the RPi side too, still zero volts.

TX light has constant, bright pulse. RX a dim flicker

The six ports in the middle of the board 5v, gnd, rst, resume hold, abort all read zero volts


$0=10 (Step pulse time, microseconds)
$1=255 (Step idle delay, milliseconds)
$2=0 (Step pulse invert, mask)
$3=0 (Step direction invert, mask)
$4=0 (Invert step enable pin, boolean)
$5=0 (Invert limit pins, boolean)
$6=0 (Invert probe pin, boolean)
$10=1 (Status report options, mask)
$11=0.010 (Junction deviation, millimeters)
$12=0.002 (Arc tolerance, millimeters)
$13=0 (Report in inches, boolean)
$20=0 (Soft limits enable, boolean)
$21=0 (Hard limits enable, boolean)
$22=0 (Homing cycle enable, boolean)
$23=0 (Homing direction invert, mask)
$24=25.000 (Homing locate feed rate, mm/min)
$25=500.000 (Homing search seek rate, mm/min)
$26=250 (Homing switch debounce delay, milliseconds)
$27=1.000 (Homing switch pull-off distance, millimeters)
$30=1000 (Maximum spindle speed, RPM)
$31=0 (Minimum spindle speed, RPM)
$32=0 (Laser-mode enable, boolean)
$100=200.000 (X-axis travel resolution, step/mm)
$101=200.000 (Y-axis travel resolution, step/mm)
$102=200.000 (Z-axis travel resolution, step/mm)
$110=50.000 (X-axis maximum rate, mm/min)
$111=50.000 (Y-axis maximum rate, mm/min)
$112=50.000 (Z-axis maximum rate, mm/min)
$120=10.000 (X-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2)
$121=10.000 (Y-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2)
$122=10.000 (Z-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2)
$130=200.000 (X-axis maximum travel, millimeters)
$131=200.000 (Y-axis maximum travel, millimeters)
$132=200.000 (Z-axis maximum travel, millimeters)

JuiceBox
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:57 am

Re: Stepper Rotates Clockwise No matter what

Post by JuiceBox » Fri Apr 19, 2019 6:47 pm

So I just had a bit of a breakthrough

Ok so I've been on multiple forums trying to get answers to this. I had one guy who had his up and running send me a photo of their setup.

His External Driver boards- https://imgur.com/a/el4Vtv6

My Exeternal Driver Board - https://imgur.com/a/ux8LMiL

...notice anything different?

So his is completely backwards from mine. So I wired mine up like his. IT TURNS IN BOTH DIRECTIONS NOW! Although it's still SUPER Choppy, it at least goes in the directions I'm telling it.

So, my next questions are:

1) Did my drivers get fried because of this board being backwards?

2) Is the choppiness correctable? or did the boards fry my drivers and I now need new ones?

3) WHY IN THE HELL ARE THEY BACKWARDS?

Sorry, I'm a little peeved here, this was supposed to be a plug and play option. I spent over $115 on these boards and 40+ hours debugging this. Like seriously? and now my drivers might be fried. ugh.... :( :x

JuiceBox
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:57 am

Re: Stepper Rotates Clockwise No matter what

Post by JuiceBox » Mon Apr 22, 2019 3:15 am

so..it's been a week... uhm... still dead in the water here...

bought new drivers just to be safe.... ugh.... It would really be great if I could get someone from Protoneer to tell me how to wire them up since the External Boards are incorrect. :(

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1457
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Stepper Rotates Clockwise No matter what

Post by Bertus Kruger » Mon Apr 22, 2019 7:23 pm

JuiceBox wrote:
Fri Apr 19, 2019 6:47 pm
...notice anything different?
When did you buy the external driver boards?

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1457
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Stepper Rotates Clockwise No matter what

Post by Bertus Kruger » Mon Apr 22, 2019 7:25 pm

JuiceBox wrote:
Fri Apr 19, 2019 6:47 pm
His External Driver boards- https://imgur.com/a/el4Vtv6
This is the correct setup and the one that is being shipped.

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1457
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Stepper Rotates Clockwise No matter what

Post by Bertus Kruger » Mon Apr 22, 2019 7:32 pm

JuiceBox wrote:
Fri Apr 19, 2019 6:47 pm
1) Did my drivers get fried because of this board being backwards?
Likely not.
JuiceBox wrote:
Fri Apr 19, 2019 6:47 pm
2) Is the choppiness correctable? or did the boards fry my drivers and I now need new ones?
This is usually when the stepper driver coils are not hooked up correctly
or when the stepper driver is to weak to step at full step(increasing Micro stepping fixes this)
or the stepper drivers overheating and cutting out (Better cooling can fix this)
or a loose wire where signals are not clean

JuiceBox wrote:
Fri Apr 19, 2019 6:47 pm
3) WHY IN THE HELL ARE THEY BACKWARDS?

Sorry, I'm a little peeved here, this was supposed to be a plug and play option. I spent over $115 on these boards and 40+ hours debugging this. Like seriously? and now my drivers might be fried. ugh.... :( :x
The first batch of the newly rotated version of the external drivers was labeled wrong. This was picked early one and we were under the impression it was not being shipped out. That is why I asked when you bought this...

And where did you buy it from?

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1457
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Stepper Rotates Clockwise No matter what

Post by Bertus Kruger » Mon Apr 22, 2019 7:38 pm

JuiceBox wrote:
Mon Apr 22, 2019 3:15 am
so..it's been a week... uhm... still dead in the water here...

bought new drivers just to be safe.... ugh.... It would really be great if I could get someone from Protoneer to tell me how to wire them up since the External Boards are incorrect. :(
Sorry for the delay.. I try my best to stay on top of the questions.

Just looking at the wiki, this issue arrised when we updated the CNC hat back in JAnuary of 2018

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests