Remoting a Protoneer from an RPi

Post Reply
vpcm
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 10:25 pm

Remoting a Protoneer from an RPi

Post by vpcm » Tue Apr 02, 2019 10:30 pm

I ran into a situation where I need to un-stack the CNC board from the Pi and mount it a few inches away. The Pi and CNC board both bolt to a metal panel on standoffs if possible, and I plan to run a ribbon cable between them.

I am looking for confirmation that the CNC board uses only:
+5V
Ground
Rx
Tx
Reset
from the Pi.
Is this correct?

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1404
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Remoting a Protoneer from an RPi

Post by Bertus Kruger » Sun Apr 07, 2019 7:02 pm

Yes..

5V,GND,RX,TX.... RESET only used for flashing the the Firmware.

vpcm
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 10:25 pm

Re: Remoting a Protoneer from an RPi

Post by vpcm » Wed May 08, 2019 12:38 am

Thanks. Now that I got the image downloading done, it's time to forge into hooking it up and making it work.

I'm slow - I only get to work on fun things when I'm back home from business trips, which isn't nearly as much as I want.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests