10K (R1) resistor

Question/Answers related to this version of the board.
Post Reply
dzzoner
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 6:54 pm

10K (R1) resistor

Post by dzzoner » Sat Mar 19, 2016 7:01 pm

I received my board V3.51 and was going over the assembly steps and noticed I do not have the 10K (R1) resistor mentioned in the instructions. Is this still a valid part for V3.51? I am assuming I need it...


Also I have an older version of this board and am wondering what the differences are with the new V3.51. I am hoping thisnew board will help with the faulting I am experiencing with end stops when homing my CNC.

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1503
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: 10K (R1) resistor

Post by Bertus Kruger » Sun Mar 20, 2016 5:56 pm

Thanks for pointing that out. The 10K resister has now been replaced by a surface mounted resistor that is pre-installed on the V3.51 boards. (Sits on the left side of the board)

The V3.51 board has the extra filters on the end-stops to get rid of noise on the lines.

SpyNet
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 1:16 pm

Re: 10K (R1) resistor

Post by SpyNet » Sat Nov 02, 2019 8:28 pm

Hello
I have order an end sensor board which uses optocouplers.
Can I use it although you have extra filters?

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1503
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: 10K (R1) resistor

Post by Bertus Kruger » Sun Nov 03, 2019 6:17 pm

SpyNet wrote:
Sat Nov 02, 2019 8:28 pm
Hello
I have order an end sensor board which uses optocouplers.
Can I use it although you have extra filters?
Yes... As long as the optocoupler is active high and gets grounded when the sensor is triggered. Then you will be fine.

SpyNet
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 1:16 pm

Re: 10K (R1) resistor

Post by SpyNet » Sun Nov 03, 2019 7:40 pm

The optocoupler is low and when it hits become high.
So I have to change $5=0 to $5=1 ?

StuartB
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 2:25 pm

Re: 10K (R1) resistor

Post by StuartB » Mon Nov 04, 2019 3:40 pm

GRBL uses Normally Open (NO) switches by default. Setting $5 to 1 lets you use Normally Closed(NC), which is the CNC industry standard and the safest. When a switch gets triggered the machine stops instantly.

I use optocouplers with an old version 3 board without the built in filters and it works great using NC switches.
Image

SpyNet
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 1:16 pm

Re: 10K (R1) resistor

Post by SpyNet » Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:43 pm

Thank you very much!!!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests