Axiom Upgrade

Post Reply
CustomSP
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:47 pm

Axiom Upgrade

Post by CustomSP » Tue Jan 05, 2021 6:10 pm

I just purchased a new Axiom CNC and will be upgrading to the Protoneer to replace the RichAuto B18 controller system.
A couple questions:

1. 24v I/O: Just to be certain, can I use the 24v for the sensors (limit, probe)?

2. Spindle control: The B18 sends a signal to a relay (24v) to enable the spindle to turn on (speed is controlled with an external knob). How can I implement this with the Protoneer?

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1738
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Post by Bertus Kruger » Wed Jan 06, 2021 8:22 pm

CustomSP wrote:
Tue Jan 05, 2021 6:10 pm
1. 24v I/O: Just to be certain, can I use the 24v for the sensors (limit, probe)?
limit and probe sensors are 5V

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1738
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Post by Bertus Kruger » Wed Jan 06, 2021 8:26 pm

CustomSP wrote:
Tue Jan 05, 2021 6:10 pm
2. Spindle control: The B18 sends a signal to a relay (24v) to enable the spindle to turn on (speed is controlled with an external knob). How can I implement this with the Protoneer?
Check the specs on the relay board. They should have their own power input(12V or so) and can then be controlled with an IO pin like the spindle pin on the CNC Hat. The hat pins will not latch the relay because that needs lots of current and the reason for having to power the relay board on its own.

CustomSP
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:47 pm

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Post by CustomSP » Wed Jan 06, 2021 10:12 pm

Bertus Kruger wrote:
Wed Jan 06, 2021 8:22 pm
CustomSP wrote:
Tue Jan 05, 2021 6:10 pm
1. 24v I/O: Just to be certain, can I use the 24v for the sensors (limit, probe)?
limit and probe sensors are 5V
Limit switches on the machine are prox type, run off of 24v... guess I'll have to change them.

CustomSP
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:47 pm

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Post by CustomSP » Wed Jan 06, 2021 10:15 pm

Bertus Kruger wrote:
Wed Jan 06, 2021 8:26 pm
CustomSP wrote:
Tue Jan 05, 2021 6:10 pm
2. Spindle control: The B18 sends a signal to a relay (24v) to enable the spindle to turn on (speed is controlled with an external knob). How can I implement this with the Protoneer?
Check the specs on the relay board. They should have their own power input(12V or so) and can then be controlled with an IO pin like the spindle pin on the CNC Hat. The hat pins will not latch the relay because that needs lots of current and the reason for having to power the relay board on its own.
Signal is sinking as wired, and seems to be more confusing than is really needs to be (also turns on the cooling pump through the spindle controller). I'll have to do more digging on how the Spindle controller can be programmed for remote start/stop. The controller is a Siemens Sinamics V20 if anyone has suggestions.

CustomSP
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:47 pm

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Post by CustomSP » Tue Jan 12, 2021 2:05 pm

Axiom upgrade complete!
It is a beast of a machine.. compared to my homemade machine. The frame is rigid, rails and ballscrews are smooth.

Only issue i currently have is a random alarm. Is there a way to see alarm history in bcnc?

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1738
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Post by Bertus Kruger » Wed Jan 13, 2021 6:04 pm

CustomSP wrote:
Tue Jan 12, 2021 2:05 pm
Axiom upgrade complete!
It is a beast of a machine.. compared to my homemade machine. The frame is rigid, rails and ballscrews are smooth.

Only issue i currently have is a random alarm. Is there a way to see alarm history in bcnc?
Do you have a few photos?

It has the console view, but that gets flooded with messages to keep the connection going.

CustomSP
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:47 pm

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Post by CustomSP » Wed Jan 13, 2021 6:57 pm

Bertus Kruger wrote:
Wed Jan 13, 2021 6:04 pm
CustomSP wrote:
Tue Jan 12, 2021 2:05 pm
Axiom upgrade complete!
It is a beast of a machine.. compared to my homemade machine. The frame is rigid, rails and ballscrews are smooth.

Only issue i currently have is a random alarm. Is there a way to see alarm history in bcnc?
Do you have a few photos?

It has the console view, but that gets flooded with messages to keep the connection going.
I was able to catch the 'alarm' on camera. It is a red "Hold: 1" followed quickly by orange "Hold: 0" Could it be interference with my hold button or Stepper controllers?

It is strange because both of my machines do it; my homebuilt and the Axiom. And it is semi random.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests