F3N Endstops

Question/Answers related to this version of the board.
Post Reply
404wanderer
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 1:38 pm

F3N Endstops

Post by 404wanderer » Tue Mar 31, 2020 9:54 am

Hi all,
to make things awkward I have to interface with F3N-18TN05-N proximity switches as endstops on my machine.
IMG_5282.jpeg
IMG_5282.jpeg (233.68 KiB) Viewed 239 times
These are NPN NO transistor operated electronic switches. Any idea how I use these with the CNC shield? I can build intermediary circuitry if necessary.

Regards,
Chris

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1670
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: F3N Endstops

Post by Bertus Kruger » Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:07 am

404wanderer wrote:
Tue Mar 31, 2020 9:54 am
Hi all,
to make things awkward I have to interface with F3N-18TN05-N proximity switches as endstops on my machine.

IMG_5282.jpeg

These are NPN NO transistor operated electronic switches. Any idea how I use these with the CNC shield? I can build intermediary circuitry if necessary.

Regards,
Chris
The shield works best with NO micro switches.

So you want the the signal to stay at 5V and only go low when triggered.

Also keep in mind there are filters(RC) on the end stops pins.

Whitey
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:46 pm

Re: F3N Endstops

Post by Whitey » Wed Jul 22, 2020 12:31 pm

404wanderer wrote:
Tue Mar 31, 2020 9:54 am
Hi all,
to make things awkward I have to interface with F3N-18TN05-N proximity switches as endstops on my machine.

IMG_5282.jpeg

These are NPN NO transistor operated electronic switches. Any idea how I use these with the CNC shield? I can build intermediary circuitry if necessary.

Regards,
Chris
Did you ever get this figured out?

I am in the same boat after upgrading to a 3.51 board. Was able to get them working on the v3 board with a sister board sandwiched between the Arduino and CNC shield with some resistors (to drop the voltage down to the 5v ) but just tried with the same board but no luck.

Thought I would do a forum search before I tried to fix it myself

404wanderer
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 1:38 pm

Re: F3N Endstops

Post by 404wanderer » Wed Jul 29, 2020 8:00 am

Hi, after destroying several of the endstops through experimenting with different switching mechanisms, I ended up using them to switch relays that are then connected to the main board. Seems to work ok.

Whitey
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:46 pm

Re: F3N Endstops

Post by Whitey » Sat Aug 01, 2020 1:25 pm

Have mine working and all I did was wire the output wire from the sensor directly to the endstop pin on the board. Shared the ground from the CNC shield with the sensor.

It's 12v going in as I run mine on s 12v circuit and so far no issues. Tried this after I was told by someone else that they do it this way with 36v and has never had any issues.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest