Page 1 of 1

Axiom Upgrade

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 6:10 pm
by CustomSP
I just purchased a new Axiom CNC and will be upgrading to the Protoneer to replace the RichAuto B18 controller system.
A couple questions:

1. 24v I/O: Just to be certain, can I use the 24v for the sensors (limit, probe)?

2. Spindle control: The B18 sends a signal to a relay (24v) to enable the spindle to turn on (speed is controlled with an external knob). How can I implement this with the Protoneer?

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2021 8:22 pm
by Bertus Kruger
CustomSP wrote:
Tue Jan 05, 2021 6:10 pm
1. 24v I/O: Just to be certain, can I use the 24v for the sensors (limit, probe)?
limit and probe sensors are 5V

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2021 8:26 pm
by Bertus Kruger
CustomSP wrote:
Tue Jan 05, 2021 6:10 pm
2. Spindle control: The B18 sends a signal to a relay (24v) to enable the spindle to turn on (speed is controlled with an external knob). How can I implement this with the Protoneer?
Check the specs on the relay board. They should have their own power input(12V or so) and can then be controlled with an IO pin like the spindle pin on the CNC Hat. The hat pins will not latch the relay because that needs lots of current and the reason for having to power the relay board on its own.

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2021 10:12 pm
by CustomSP
Bertus Kruger wrote:
Wed Jan 06, 2021 8:22 pm
CustomSP wrote:
Tue Jan 05, 2021 6:10 pm
1. 24v I/O: Just to be certain, can I use the 24v for the sensors (limit, probe)?
limit and probe sensors are 5V
Limit switches on the machine are prox type, run off of 24v... guess I'll have to change them.

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2021 10:15 pm
by CustomSP
Bertus Kruger wrote:
Wed Jan 06, 2021 8:26 pm
CustomSP wrote:
Tue Jan 05, 2021 6:10 pm
2. Spindle control: The B18 sends a signal to a relay (24v) to enable the spindle to turn on (speed is controlled with an external knob). How can I implement this with the Protoneer?
Check the specs on the relay board. They should have their own power input(12V or so) and can then be controlled with an IO pin like the spindle pin on the CNC Hat. The hat pins will not latch the relay because that needs lots of current and the reason for having to power the relay board on its own.
Signal is sinking as wired, and seems to be more confusing than is really needs to be (also turns on the cooling pump through the spindle controller). I'll have to do more digging on how the Spindle controller can be programmed for remote start/stop. The controller is a Siemens Sinamics V20 if anyone has suggestions.

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2021 2:05 pm
by CustomSP
Axiom upgrade complete!
It is a beast of a machine.. compared to my homemade machine. The frame is rigid, rails and ballscrews are smooth.

Only issue i currently have is a random alarm. Is there a way to see alarm history in bcnc?

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 6:04 pm
by Bertus Kruger
CustomSP wrote:
Tue Jan 12, 2021 2:05 pm
Axiom upgrade complete!
It is a beast of a machine.. compared to my homemade machine. The frame is rigid, rails and ballscrews are smooth.

Only issue i currently have is a random alarm. Is there a way to see alarm history in bcnc?
Do you have a few photos?

It has the console view, but that gets flooded with messages to keep the connection going.

Re: Axiom Upgrade

Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2021 6:57 pm
by CustomSP
Bertus Kruger wrote:
Wed Jan 13, 2021 6:04 pm
CustomSP wrote:
Tue Jan 12, 2021 2:05 pm
Axiom upgrade complete!
It is a beast of a machine.. compared to my homemade machine. The frame is rigid, rails and ballscrews are smooth.

Only issue i currently have is a random alarm. Is there a way to see alarm history in bcnc?
Do you have a few photos?

It has the console view, but that gets flooded with messages to keep the connection going.
I was able to catch the 'alarm' on camera. It is a red "Hold: 1" followed quickly by orange "Hold: 0" Could it be interference with my hold button or Stepper controllers?

It is strange because both of my machines do it; my homebuilt and the Axiom. And it is semi random.