Dead AVRMEGA 328P

Post Reply
igor45
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:34 pm

Dead AVRMEGA 328P

Post by igor45 » Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:09 pm

Hi,
after a couple of months of working I do have a dead my hut. I am not able to connect it. When I tried to reflash GBRL, I was told programmer did not answer. I am going to build some ISP programmer and to try to live the processor by ISP.
I have some questions:
1 - if ISP connector on the hut is Kanda type?
2- when I exchange the processor do I need to have the Opti-boot bootloader or the one flashed by a producer to be able to upgrade GRBL from RaspbberyPI
3 - Could I get the AVRMEGA 328P with flash programmed from Protoneer to exchange processor on PCB and to have a working hut again?

Regards

Igor

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1649
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Dead AVRMEGA 328P

Post by Bertus Kruger » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:18 pm

igor45 wrote:
Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:09 pm
1 - if ISP connector on the hut is Kanda type?
Its one of these:
Image

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1649
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Dead AVRMEGA 328P

Post by Bertus Kruger » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:19 pm

igor45 wrote:
Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:09 pm
2- when I exchange the processor do I need to have the Opti-boot bootloader or the one flashed by a producer to be able to upgrade GRBL from RaspbberyPI
Definitely needs the Opti-bootloader

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1649
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Dead AVRMEGA 328P

Post by Bertus Kruger » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:20 pm

igor45 wrote:
Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:09 pm
3 - Could I get the AVRMEGA 328P with flash programmed from Protoneer to exchange processor on PCB and to have a working hut again?
Thanks for the request but the answer is no. We only program the MCU as soon as its on the board.

igor45
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: Dead AVRMEGA 328P

Post by igor45 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:05 pm

Dear Bertus,
many thanks for your kind answers. If someone is interested - I did another research. ATMega 328P is still alive - I was able to read the whole flash by ISP port. I will check if the file I read is the same as the one I can find in SD card tomorrow,
After resseting the hat I am getting the right answer:
Grbl 1.1f['$' for help]
[MSG:$H'|'$X' to unlock]
but responses from another communication is a mess...
--- for instance $1 is responded by 0xb6 0xfc 0x8f 0xb6 n 0xfc
It looks like the problem with EMS of my motor... Comparing files will show more.
Wih regards
Igor

igor45
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: Dead AVRMEGA 328P

Post by igor45 » Sun Aug 19, 2018 7:28 pm

Dear Bertus
I tried to program AVMega328P with GRBL version 1.7f version 20170801 - the version I have found in AVR was from 20170131. Avrdude says everythng is OK, never the less the result is the same as before - after reset I am getting the right string, everything other is the same as before.
I am not very keen on debugging AVR, never the less it should be the right way how to check what is wrong. Reading source of GRBL gives me nothing.
Any suggestions?

With regards

Igor

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1649
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Dead AVRMEGA 328P

Post by Bertus Kruger » Sun Sep 02, 2018 6:59 pm

First off we use the Arduino bootloader to upload code to the 328. Without it the RPi can't upload code to the hat...

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1649
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Dead AVRMEGA 328P

Post by Bertus Kruger » Sun Sep 02, 2018 7:00 pm

igor45 wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:05 pm
--- for instance $1 is responded by 0xb6 0xfc 0x8f 0xb6 n 0xfc
Where are you seeing this?

This could be a baud rate issue...

How does it respond to $$ ?

igor45
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: Dead AVRMEGA 328P

Post by igor45 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:15 pm

HI Bert,
working with another project i returned to the problem with protoneer hat awhile ago. I would not bother other users with my problem - when you will have any idea, send me a private mail please.
First - the hat stopped answering at all lately, I can't obtain anything even after RESET. Measuring the output way (10k resistor and BSS138) seems to be OK.
TXD (pin 31 of ATmega 328) doesn't send anything, There is stable 5V even after pressing reset button. I used the UART sniffer connected directly to Atmel pins. RX path seems to be OK.
I exchanged the processor, but the result is still the same. AVRDude programs and verified the processor OK by ISP, it's hardly to believe that the atmel is not programming at all.
The only solution that I have in mind - isn't any other signal on any pins of Atmel that could blocked sending?
Spending a lot of time to find the problem I consider to purchase a new hat and let the solution (that must exist) for long winter evenings.
With regards
Igor
BTW. I used to check communication the program cutecom - from Raspberry as well from my PC with USB to USART bridge.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests