Arduino pins in use

Question/Answers related to this version of the board.
Post Reply
bobpombrio
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 2:46 pm

Arduino pins in use

Post by bobpombrio » Wed Jun 15, 2016 12:59 am

Which pins on the Arduino is the 2.51 board using to connect with the Protoneer board?

I want to implement a pause button, which GRBL supports one but I do not want to use pins that might interfere with the board.

Is there a list of the available pins on the Arduino? I am specifically looking at the A1 and A2 pins, pause and resume.

Thanks,
Bob

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1670
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Arduino pins in use

Post by Bertus Kruger » Wed Jun 15, 2016 4:03 am

The pins have been broken out for you and all you have to do is connect Normally open buttons to them.

Image

bobpombrio
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 2:46 pm

Re: Arduino pins in use

Post by bobpombrio » Wed Jun 15, 2016 4:18 am

Sorry for that I found the answer in another post viewtopic.php?f=10&t=37

Of course you guys have already thought of and handled my needs, even when I don't know them yet. May I suggest some changes to the wiki? I have read thru the wiki 3 times and I still missed the really short blurb on the buttons.

"Button Controls

The buttons : RESET,ABORT,HOLD,RESUME work with normally open buttons and gets activated when grounded. All buttons are pulled high.
"
How about this instead?

"Button Controls

If you would like to have a physical button to activate one of four actions like PAUSE(Hold), RESUME, ABORT, and RESET then you can do this pins below the external drivers pins. Simple add a normally open button to then pin and run the other other button pin to ground.

Keep in mind that these 'buttons' are all software enactments and not a emergency stop button which should cut all power to the machine.
"

But as I look at the RPI and the 2.51 board I do not think I want them stacked. SO I am going to use bread board jumpers, female/male combos, I'll plug all 10 in.

Yea did that and I have a LOT more options now as to how I arrange my control box.

Thanks again for the wonderful product,
Bob

bobpombrio
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 2:46 pm

Re: Arduino pins in use

Post by bobpombrio » Wed Jun 15, 2016 4:20 am

Is that EN a spindle enable?

Sorry for being such a pest.

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1670
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Arduino pins in use

Post by Bertus Kruger » Wed Jun 15, 2016 4:34 am

No worries at all....

En -> Enable pin for stepper motors.

RSM -> Resume
RST -> Reset, same as soft e-stop.
HLD -> Hold
ABRT -> ABort

bobpombrio
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 2:46 pm

Re: Arduino pins in use

Post by bobpombrio » Thu Jun 16, 2016 5:18 pm

Thanks Bertus,
Sorry I was a pain.

Bob

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1670
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Arduino pins in use

Post by Bertus Kruger » Fri Jun 17, 2016 8:46 am

bobpombrio wrote:Thanks Bertus,
Sorry I was a pain.

Bob
Not at all.. ;)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests