Connecting a E-Stop Button

Question/Answers related to this version of the board.
Post Reply
bobpombrio
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 2:46 pm

Connecting a E-Stop Button

Post by bobpombrio » Fri Jun 10, 2016 10:25 pm

I can't find anything on connecting a E-stop button to the board. For now I am things of cutting all power to the system BUT what I would like is to have the spindle stop and the Z axis lift to it's limit and everything else pause. Is this possible with the system?

Or if that is not recommended then what is a good E-Stop setup?

Thanks,
Bob P.

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1670
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Connecting a E-Stop Button

Post by Bertus Kruger » Sun Jun 12, 2016 6:57 am

E-Stop basically will just restart the Micro-controller. (Grounding the RST pin).

I would however recommend power cut switch. It will cut power to the spindle and the stepper motor power supply.

The reason behind it is that when there is a real emergency its better to cut all power than to depend on the micro to recover. Manually recovering is not as nice but because the machine is in an unknown state trusting a machine to recover is not recommended.

bobpombrio
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 2:46 pm

Re: Connecting a E-Stop Button

Post by bobpombrio » Mon Jun 13, 2016 8:11 pm

Ok I can agree with that on the E-Stop. What about a Pause button?

GRBL has a Pause/Resume built into the Arduino A1 & A2 inputs. So does the Protoneer hat use those pins or can I steal the pins?

See the forum post on: https://discuss.inventables.com/t/need- ... tart/16419 for information about a GRBL pause button.

Thanks,
Bob P.

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 1670
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Connecting a E-Stop Button

Post by Bertus Kruger » Wed Jun 15, 2016 4:01 am

The pins have been broken out for you to use.

Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest