Another little problem

erniehatt
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:16 am

Another little problem

Postby erniehatt » Wed Feb 08, 2017 1:45 am

The new board arrived and is working to an extent, one small problem, setting the Esteps, I have change $100, 101 and 102from the default 250 down as far as !5, but it always reacts badly.Set the step size to 1 or 50, and it moves about 4 or 5 times to far.
What could be wrong here

PSanf
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:05 pm

Re: Another little problem

Postby PSanf » Wed Feb 08, 2017 5:45 am

Did you adjust the current limit on your Pololu drivers? If you don't set the current limit beforehand, you'll have a bad time.

erniehatt
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:16 am

Re: Another little problem

Postby erniehatt » Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:57 am

Well I got it running now, It is nowhere as good as it was when I was using the CNC shield, it's a lot noisier.

erniehatt
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:16 am

Re: Another little problem

Postby erniehatt » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:47 pm

OK, the X axis seems alright, but the Y axis is so noisy, just as though it is grinding, I am using the drivers I took off of the CNC shield, which worked fine nice and quite. push the Y axis by hand and it seems free enough.
I notice a big jump in the engraving on the Y axis, it double printed part of the file.
Also a print stop part way through.
the belts are not loose,and pulley's are tight.
Kind of got me beat.

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 577
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Another little problem

Postby Bertus Kruger » Sun Feb 12, 2017 6:54 pm

erniehatt wrote:OK, the X axis seems alright, but the Y axis is so noisy, just as though it is grinding, I am using the drivers I took off of the CNC shield, which worked fine nice and quite. push the Y axis by hand and it seems free enough.
I notice a big jump in the engraving on the Y axis, it double printed part of the file.
Also a print stop part way through.
the belts are not loose,and pulley's are tight.
Kind of got me beat.


Have you tried to replace the stepper driver?

erniehatt
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:16 am

Re: Another little problem

Postby erniehatt » Sun Feb 12, 2017 8:34 pm

Yes Bertus,
been there done that, still the same problem, adjusting the driver doesn't seem to make any difference.
Also, to get the axis's to move the required distance I have to set the Esteps to 5, that's a big drop from 80 used with the CNC shield.

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 577
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Another little problem

Postby Bertus Kruger » Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:49 pm

erniehatt wrote:Yes Bertus,
been there done that, still the same problem, adjusting the driver doesn't seem to make any difference.
Also, to get the axis's to move the required distance I have to set the Esteps to 5, that's a big drop from 80 used with the CNC shield.


Please post your configuration settings...

This does sound unusual. Did you run GRBL v1.1 on the CNC shield?

erniehatt
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:16 am

Re: Another little problem

Postby erniehatt » Wed Feb 15, 2017 6:42 pm

Bertus,
the only settings I have changed are to the driver and the Esteps, what others should I be looking at.
No the CNC Shield did not use V1.1 I think .9

Bertus Kruger
Site Admin
Posts: 577
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:26 pm
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Another little problem

Postby Bertus Kruger » Fri Feb 17, 2017 12:28 am

erniehatt wrote:Bertus,
the only settings I have changed are to the driver and the Esteps, what others should I be looking at.
No the CNC Shield did not use V1.1 I think .9


That could be the difference... Could be that they have different defaults to start with.

erniehatt
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:16 am

Re: Another little problem

Postby erniehatt » Fri Feb 17, 2017 12:50 am

well I have got it working a lot better, the noise is not so objectionable.
But another little problem I have is probably more complex.
I want to be able to engrave raster files so I can engrave photos, but this setup does not seem to allow it, but the people at Picengrave seems to think it possible, I believe they are using a special version of GRBL, not sure about that, but I have sent them an email about it, will let you know of any advancement.


Return to “Current Version(2.58)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest